new older About Us Notes Design DLand

CastRings

2003-12-15 - 5:05 p.m.
What a day!

This is Amanda. Ahh, the Christmas season! Thank you to Grandma Lydia for the generous gifts, they were highly appreciated by all of us!

On the news front: The flu has been going around the Chesapeake area, and our family seems to have caught it in full. Luckily our flu shots have lessened the severity, but my head is splitting and I feel terrible. Ben seems to have gotten rid of most of his worst symptoms (slightly elevated fever, coughing, etc).

I, Amanda, have officially a 98 average in French IV. *Bows* Thank you, thank you! I mean, Merci! Merci beaucoup! Et je souhaite que vous ayez un bon No�l cette ann�e! How's that for four years worth of French?

Ben has a girlfriend now! Her name is Theresa, she's got red, curly hair, and is an adorable little spit-fire! He went to his first dance not long ago with her, even bought her a corsage! He also says his grades are improving greatly. He (and I, for that matter) is extremely excited about the soon to come release of Lord of the Rings Return of the King!

And I am almost finished with the book! It comes out Wednesday, for those who don't already know. Speaking of dances, I had my first dance two Saturdays ago, as well! The Junior Prom! As soon as I get the pictures, I promise to post them. I wore a golden gown and gloves, and I got my class ring there. It's silver with an Aqua Marine stone, my name, my graduating year (2005), and a cello on one side and a guitar on the other (I play both those instruments).

Ben and I did very well on some recent playing tests in Orchestra class. He's 4th chair Viola in the 7th Grade Orchestra, and I'm 2nd chair Cello in Hickory High School Varsity Orchestra. The both of us have concerts tomorrow! The songs that are going to be played at Ben's concert include: Holiday Hoedown, Jingle Bell Rock, Ukranian Bell Carol, and Christmas Time Is Here. My concert will include: Passacaglia in G Minor by Handel, Concerto in A by Torelli, Eine Kliene Nachtmusik by Mozart (the most popular Mozart piece), O! Little Town of Bethlehem, and What Child Is This (commonly known as Greensleeves- a beautiful piece from the Medieval Period of Europe).

Unfortunately, both concerts are at the same time at the same night. That presents a problem. But we will both be fantastic anyway!

Is there anything else on the school front? I just finished four essays on Shakespeare's "Macbeth". It's a very ornate and soulful play, I highly recommend it. I, however, don't enjoy having to write four essays, 2-3 pages each, on whether or not Macbeth was, indeed, a tragic hero inflicted with hamartia, or if the root of the name of the Weird Sisters is, indeed, "weyrd" (the Anglo-Saxon early English word meaning pre-destination or pre-ordination) and Macbeth's demise was planned in the hands of others (namely his wife or the witches). Yep, I'm in a College Course English (AP Literature and Composition). We're studying European literature, and we've just started the Romantic Period. Did you know Edgar Allen Poe was a Romanticist? I learned that last year, but it's true!

We cleaned the living room up a bit this weekend for the Christmas tree. We even got some new lights, so, yeah.

I've got too much of a headache to keep typing, and I have some Wordsworth poems to analyse, so I'm off. Toodles!

[ Calvin and Hobbes ]