new older About Us Notes Design DLand

CastRings

2003-12-17 - 9:48 a.m.
In remembrance

In remembrance of Mandy's first, and only, class ring I will make this entry about her junior prom/ring dance.

At this dance they were presented with their class rings. As you can see from the cost of it in the last post it was rather pricey. We had to make more then a few payments on it. It WAS a very lovely ring, and well worth the money. Anyway...

Amanda decided she wanted a look for her first dance that would stand out from the crowd. No boring black and white for this young lady. She didn't want to run the chance of seeing her dress on at least two other girls. So, she decided we should make it. She's into the retro/rockabilly look lately and decided to rummage the hundreds of patterns I have. She settled her heart on an early 1950s tea length cocktail dress. I call it a "peekaboo bodice" dress. She loved it, but it had it's problems. One being I hadn't checked this pattern to see if all the pattern pieces were present. It was also for a size 12, a "50s" size 12. That is for a size 30 bust. Mandy is now 6'1" and leaving a size 7 for a size 9. Not only that, my loving daughter, that thinks I can work miracles, wanted it floor length, not tea length.

Due to three finals and two projects due at the end of my semester I only had 2 1/2 days to pull this miracle off. Thankfully all the pattern pieces were present. We found beautiful fabric and I set to work.

There were moments I honestly didn't think I'd be able to do it in time. One being when my most loved sewing machine bobbin casing died. I had to pull my old machine out, not knowing if it still worked. After some fussing with it all was fine.

It came down to the wire on time. With only 30 minutes to put in the side zipper before having to take her to meet her friend. There are some things that I want to redo before it's worn again, but all in all I think it turned out smashing. She made a hit in her dress. When asked where she found such a dress she claims to have responded "an exclusive dress shop" designed it just for her. Her order from this exclusive dress shop for her senior prom? There is no pattern for this, just a drawing. I have already gathered the items needed to make the pattern and test it in muslin. I will get started after the Holidays. Wish me luck!

[ Calvin and Hobbes ]